Outside the image: writers from Utrecht


A new story is available today!

This time, it is a story about a photo we didn’t take. We saw the stone in the pavement, and did not use our camera. But I was intrigued and decided to write about this stone and the story behind it. Go to the page Literary Utrecht, or read an excerpt:

My curiosity is immediately on high alert, All kind of questions race through my mind. Who is Sister Bertken? What is a hermit doing in the middle of a medieval city and what do they mean, entombed??? I look around for more information. Nothing. Then I grab my tiny tourist guide. No luck. On the most famous bridge in Utrecht, the St Maartensbrug, we find a carved image of Suster Bertken being entombed in her cell. But nothing else. Eventually, I continue my hunt for information on Internet as soon as I can get my hands on a computer. It is amazing.

Leave a Reply

